Total Pageviews

Saturday, 6 October 2018

Ted Heath & His Band

The original Ted Heath Band of the 50's & 60's....six tracks of his popular songs AND ....

The London Suite was written by Thomas "Fats" Waller during his 1939 European tour. It is his musical interpretation of six London districts and the suite was arranged for and recorded by the Ted Heath band in 1947, then re-recorded in 1953/4. Piccadilly is scored as an up-tempo yet light and bouncy swing chart that reflects the urban sophistication and wealth of the area. There are solos for Alto 1, Tenor and Guitar (or Piano), some lovely sectional interplays, powerful ensemble passages and a couple of sweet sax solo passages too. 

Some Great Big Band sounds....concert style !!!

1. Honeysuckle Rose
2. Ain't Misbehavin'
3. Blue Turning Grey Over You
4. Jitterbug Waltz
5. I've Got A Feeling I'm Falling
6. Alligator Crawl

1. London Suite..Soho
2. Limehouse
3. Piccadilly
4. Chelsea
5. Bond Street
6. Whitechapel

1. Ain't Misbehavin'